Padma Awards For 119 Achievers Including S P Balasubramaniam, Ram Vilas Paswan and Former Japanese Premier Shinzo Abe

On the eve of 72nd Republic Day, the Government announced the Padma Awards this evening. Seven persons will get Padma Vibhushan. They include former Japan Prime Minister Shinzo Abe, sculptor Sudarshan Sahoo and Islamic scholar Maulana Wahiduddin Khan. Eminent Singer late S P Balasubramaniam will be awarded the 2nd highest civilian award posthumously.Ten persons will get Padma Bhushan. They include former Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, Singer K S Chithra, prominent poet Chandrashekhara Kambara and retired Civil Servant Nripendra Misra. Former Gujarat Chief Minister late Keshubhai Patel , Former Assam Chief Minister late Tarun Gogoi and Former Union Minister late Ram Vilas Paswan will be honoured with Padma Bhushan posthumously.102 persons will get Padma Shri. They include Social Worker Sindutai Sapkal, Musician Bombay Jayashri, British film director Peter Brook and Greek Indologist Nicholas Kazanas. Former Governor of Goa late Mridula Sinha, Spanish-Indian Jesuit priest and author late Father Vallés will be given the award posthumously.The list includes many unsung heroes of the country.Congratulating the Padma Awardees, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said, we are proud of all those who have been conferred the Padma Awards. In a tweet, Mr Modi said, India cherishes their contribution to the nation and humanity at large. He said, these exceptional individuals from different walks of life have brought qualitative changes in the lives of others.Seven persons across different fields have been nominated for the Padma Awards from West Bengal. On the eve of 72nd Republic Day, the names of the Padma Shri awardees were announced for the year 2021.Novelist Namdeo.C.Kamble hailing from Washim district in Vidarbha is awarded Padmashri for his contribution to the field of literature. Earlier, he had received the 1995 Sahitya Akademi Award for his novel ‘Raghavvel’. He has written 8 novels, 2 collections of stories, 4 collections of poems, 2 collections of ideological books. He has recently written a book on Gandhi-Ambedkar ideological writing.